I Have to Exercise More

This morning, I woke up before my alarm rang for once and felt pretty well rested. School was pretty normal, although we did finally get our cool school uniform jackets. Culture class today was also pretty fun – we did some tie-dye (I forgot to take pictures, but hopefully I’ll remember tomorrow).

In the afternoon, I went with my host mom and my host brother to this park/athletic center. We played soccer and badminton. I also got bit by a bunch of mosquitoes. But most importantly, I learned that I am severely out of shape. Just running around playing with my host brother for a few minutes made me tired (although I can blame part of it on the heat). Considering how much I eat here, I really need to start doing some kind of exercise daily. 

Also, I find it difficult to decode the nutrition labels here. Apparently, the whipped cream filled bread I ate this morning had 1000 kilojoules (about 240 calories) per 100 grams, but I couldn’t tell how many grams the bread was. Now, I’m not the kind of person to obsess over calories, but after hearing about a similar situation from Kathleen, I was a bit curious. 

Anyways, it was really fun to play outside for a while. My host brother was so cute when he tried to serve the birdie, only to have it fly a few centimeters behind him. Also, I learned that my aim is worse than I had first thought. After that, we went to the calligraphy lesson place to pick up my host sister, and one of the girls there gave me a fan with her calligraphy on it. I don’t know why she gave it to me, but I was grateful. 

Not really much to say, and I’m too tired to add an extra segment today.

WOTD: 千焦 (qiān jiāo) – kilojoule

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started